PDA

View Full Version : Back Problems?

leighan
02-14-2006, 05:27 PM
Hi, this is my first time posting on here, although I've been appreciately reading all that you've posted for a good while now.
My question today concerns one of my 2 minis. He's tiny....7 1/2 lbs or so, and almost 3 yrs old.
He has avoided one "slippery" staircase in our house since he slipped once. Two nights ago, he somehow got out of bed without me noticing and I was awakened by him whimpering in the living room. He whimpers at the bottom of the staircase when he wants to be carried up.
My concern now is that he may have injured himself during that night. He's avoiding a small staircase now...one that's carpeted.
He's still running around, eating fine, sleeping fine, but he just seems more timid and tentative than normal. I'm wondering if he just scared himself that night, or if he could have some disc damage. Does anyone have experience with this? Would his symptoms be much more obvious?
Sorry for this LONG post.

Courtney
02-14-2006, 05:30 PM
Welcome!! And your post is not long at all! :)

If he was acting a little off, it could be a very early sign of trouble. It does sound like he may have just scared himself, if he is not acting any differently and still moving around great. Does he let you pick him up and hold him? If so, he is probably OK. But again, I'm not a vet and I can't see him!

There is a lot of great info at Dodgerslist. http://dodgerslist.com/

Check that out and see if that helps, or let us know if you have any more questions.

Great to have you here!

leighan
02-14-2006, 05:34 PM
Ah, you guys are INCREDIBLE! Thanks so much for the quick responses.