View Full Version : Those who express your puppers anal glands--HELP!

Jen
05-23-2006, 03:28 PM
Ok, I've been to all of the websites, I've read all of the directions, me Vet even showed me but I can't seem to do it. Is it really this hard? Am I just chicken cause I don't want to hurt her?

The groomer is going to show me how on Thur am, but I was wondering if you had any tips as I may try once more tonight as the licking is driving me nuts!

Feel for the small hard, bb like nodules and squeeze between forefinger and thumb and stinky fishy stuff should come out right??

HotDogMama
05-23-2006, 03:33 PM
Sometimes I take a papertowel and kind of "scoop up" under the tail and that will get it to goin, I guess its not the "proper" procedure but it gets the job done, lol and the fishy smell..... smells more like cooked death to me :shocked:

lotsadox
05-23-2006, 03:38 PM
Well, I'm not very good at it, but basically I just hold the tail up with one hand and using a BUNCH of paper towels I just run my fingers along each side and squeeze until something comes out. I'm having trouble now with Miller. He acts like his are bothering him, but when I try to express them I hardly get anything out. :dunno: so I may not be the best person to ask about this.

Michelle
05-23-2006, 03:42 PM
:scratch: :scratch:
I have never had to do this with Heidi and Princess, they never scrap their butts along the ground, and could it be the raw feeding?? that keeps their anal glands from getting blocked up????,

Only dog lovers would be talking about squeezing butts :rotfl: :rotfl:

quavec
05-23-2006, 03:43 PM
:yuck: can't do it. tried but can't. I did find out that a good friend of the family is a vet tech and she said to just call her to see if she's busy and she'll come over and do it.

Jen
05-23-2006, 03:44 PM
Only dog lovers would be talking about squeezing butts :rotfl: :rotfl:

I know, I'm on the phone AT WORK with the groomer discussing anal glands!! :lol: