PDA

View Full Version : The Anipals on Watch

Otto'sMom
07-04-2006, 12:28 PM
My 4th of July started off early. I was actually pretty psyched to get up and out of bed because I knew I had to get the hounds prepped to come with me to stand watch. I don't know if they knew what was going on. I'd packed the truck the night before (something I've never done before when preparing for a duty day)
They all had their breakfast and gone outside for potties/poops and then settled in for a normal work day routine. Otto went to the fortress of Grrtitude with Grrrt, Austin went and hid under the bed, cause I don't know to look for him there so I can't put him in his nice kennel :rolleyes: , Dolly and Buddy settled into the bedroom and Mimi on the dogbed.
I get dressed, get my purse and open the door to the garage and tell them to get in. They're all like "wha:scratch: " I tell them again and it's :dogwalk: they're just happy to be going somewhere with mom.

I get to work, and get everybody and everything into my office, the building is empty except for the other person I'm in charge of. I take the pups on the rounds with me, and they had a ball. Grrrt had to watch the office for me (knew she couldn't keep up with our walk) but we made sure there were no intruders and locked the doors to all the buildings.
They got to run around the floor I'm on like ninnies and skidded around corners, it's a blast. I can't imagine ever standing a watch without them. We located and secured a stray piece of pizza in one building, they're true heros.
We're sitting in my office now, with Otto and Grrrt on my lap as I type. Buddy is tucked into a corner, Dolly variates between under the desk and the dog bed by the door. Mimi had staked a claim to the chair across from my desk and Austin is at my feet sleeping with his head on the dictionary :awww: