When I lived in Leesville, I had the best vet in the world. We moved about an hour, 15 minutes south of Leesville,so I had to find another vet.

I thought I'd found a great vet, but now I'm not so sure. The new vet and staff talks to me as though I'm an idiot and as though I have NO experience with dogs, much less dog health. I think I've seen just about everything, and thanks to my old vet, I've learned a heck of alot.

I started fostering Oscar about a month and a half ago. He is 1-2 years old, healthy and energetic. He is moderately HW pos- not high antigen, but not low antigen either.

Our vet in Baton Rouge (where he came from) has a new protocol on HW treatment that is safer for the dogs and turns out to be less expensive. Instead of 3 shots, they get 30 days of doxycyclin, then get their 2-series of treatment back to back, as normal 30 days later. After their back to back, 30 days later, they get an oral dose. The doxy begins killing off the baby worms and keeps infection risk to a minimum. Basically, this takes the place of the first shot.

Before I got Oscar, I talked to my new vet and told him about the protocol in BR, and would he be willing to go along with that? He said yes- no problem.

So, after the 30 days of doxy, I made the appointment to get his 2-series shots. I brought him in, and asked him what time he should be back in tomorrow. He said, no, bring him back in 30 days for his 2 back to back shots.

I sat there like :confused:

I explained to him again about the doxy and what we'd spoken about 1 month prior. He said he didn't want to do that, b/c it wasn't 'safe.' I called the vet in BR and told them what he said, and he was a bit confused by his unwillingness to do it. It really is safer for the dog, and there is so much research out there that proves it.